In the Dark logo bai_logo


Kilfinane, Co. Limerick, Ireland


International Audio   Arts Festival

November 17th-19th 2017


GHMlogo_text Hearsay15Banner

Celebrating & Inspiring Creative Audio

type superhero

HearSay is ...

A not for profit initiative (currently organised on a voluntary basis) that aims to celebrate and inspire creative audio around the world.


Home of the HearSay Audio Prize - celebrating excellence in creative audio of all disciplines with 9 different Awards. In 2015 there were entries from 24 countries. ALL Award winners received flights from anywhere in the world to HearSay2015!   The HearSay Prize 2015 winners


The organisation behind the incredible HearSay International Audio Festival - Three days and nights of sound, story and sharing taking over the mountain village of Kilfinane in Co. Limerick, Ireland (population 700)

Celebrating & Inspiring Creative Audio


Join HearSay on Facebook

Scrooge Experiment

Our HearSay Family has grown! Hundreds of people came to #HearSay2015 from 25 countries. 84 events took place in 19 venues over 3 magical days last November. The 3rd HearSay Festival will take place in November 2017 (Feb 28th) DUE TO SERVER ISSUES WITH AMAZON/SUBMITTABLE, THE DEADLINE FOR THE HEARSAY AUDIO PRIZE 2017 IS EXTENDED TO 2400 HOURS IRISH STANDARD TIME ON 2ND MARCH 2017

“A magical, informative, inspiring experience.” :::  “A brilliant and inspiring festival well worth visiting.” ::: “An extraordinary adventure into sound. The perfect festival.” :;: “Completely magical, slightly mad, unexpected, unconventional, surprising and wonderful.” :::  “A new kind of audio festival that presented fresh ideas in intimate ways, grounded in a rich and welcoming community.” ::: “Woodstock for radio!”

HearSay Attendees

HS14_Sat_PaoloAMARS Salonduchatfullflow HS2014_DarkDelights3 HS2014_HairSalon HS14_HurdyGurdy_display KilfinaneRainbow


Follow HearSay on Twitter




The HearSay Audio Prize 2017 is now OPEN FOR ENTRIES with a different   submission schedule than originally planned.  We have now aligned it much closer with the Festival - our apologies to those who were waiting frantically for the submission button to be active. You've a few more weeks to prepare something beautiful!


The Final (EXTENDED) Deadline is the 2nd March 2017.  We've had a number of requests to make the prize even more accessible and so we have both kept the Full entry fee the same and introduced a new EARLYBIRD deadline with an entry fee reduced by 30%. The EARLYBIRD deadline is 15th December 2016. 


The 2017 Prize has a similar structure and rules to the previous prize with two streams 'CELEBRATE' for existing audio work (which can be reworked) produced before the 31st December 2016, and 'CREATE' for new audio created especially for the prize. Entries must be between two and seven minutes in duration. There are nine awards altogether and yes the prizes include Flights to Ireland from anywhere in the world for HearSay2017. In 2015 winners were flown from Canada, Argentina, Israel, Italy, England and Australia!


The Theme of the next HearSay International Audio Festival dates have been announced as "Discovery".  We're really looking forward to putting together a magical programme drawn from across the creative audio disciplines.  An open invitation for contributor proposals for HearSay2017 will be announced in late November 2016. The third HearSay Festival will be held in Kilfinane, Co. Limerick, Ireland on the 17th-19th November 2017. Start planning your trip to Ireland in 2017. . Registration for HearSay2017 will open in Spring 2017.


Sign up on the left for our newsletter and follow us on Twitter & Facebook for announcements

HearSay News Updates


Passion and free-flowing inspiration with a real sense of community


Audio Everywhere- a hub of audio activity and interactions between creators and listeners. Events take place in ever nook and cranny from village streets to hair salons, sitting rooms to churches!


Collaboration & creativity - crossing disciplines, passionate discussions, compelling insights, creative challenges and the most compelling audio from around the world.


International award-winning contributors from all disciplines of creative audio radio features, film sound,  sound art, theatre sound, music, audio fiction ...